Board of Directors

The Board is responsible for the overall management and corporate governance of Australian Military Bank.

Board of Directors

Meet our Board of Directors


The Board is responsible for the overall management and corporate governance of Australian Military Bank. That means they are responsible for making Australian Military Bank work for the benefit of its members while retaining its financial viability and ensuring compliance with the law.


Alan Bardwell

Director and Chair of the Board
Alan was appointed as a Director in April 2019. Alan has over 35 years’ experience in the banking, finance and securities Industry including 16 years at Citigroup and 10 years with the Australian Securities Exchange where he served as Chief Financial Officer and then Chief Risk Officer.  As well as AMB, Alan is currently a non-executive director on the Boards of ClearView Life Nominees and the Financial Services Institute of Australasia (FINSIA).  Alan is also a consultant to advisory group The Risk Board and a member of the Admissions Committee that advises the Board of the Sydney Stock Exchange. He has extensive knowledge of retail, corporate and investment banking, wealth and funds management and the securities industry. Alan is a Chartered Accountant, Senior Fellow of FINSIA, and Graduate of the AICD.

Sean Fitzgerald

Director, Deputy Chair of the Board and Chair of the Risk Committee
Sean was appointment as a Director in June 2018. Sean has held a variety roles over his 20 year banking career across three major banks and two member owned banks. Most recently Sean was the General Manager of Retail Banking and Distribution for P&N Bank, WA’s largest member owned bank. Sean’s responsibility’s covered the retail branches, contact centre, broker channel, commercial finance portfolio, mobile bankers, collections and financial planning. Prior to P&N Bank, Sean was the State General Manager for Retail Banking for WA, SA and NT for NAB. Sean holds a Diploma in Financial Services.

John Brooks

Director and Chair of the Audit Committee
Group Captain John Brooks (Retd) joined Australian Military Bank’s Board of Directors in 2000. John graduated from the University of NSW with a Bachelor of Arts majoring in economics and is a graduate of the Royal Air Force Staff College and the Australian Defence College. He is a Fellow of the Australian Defence College, a Member of the Australasian Credit Union Institute and a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Michael Crane DSC & Bar, AM

Director and Chair of the Governance & Remuneration Committee
Major General Michael Crane (Retd) served in the Australian Army for more than 37 years and saw operational service in East Timor and the Middle East. He is now a consultant and company director, and is active as a volunteer in the not-for-profit sector. He holds degrees in Science, Defence Studies and Strategic Studies and is a graduate of the Mt Eliza Business School General Management Program and a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Michael joined the Australian Military Bank’s Board in July 2018. Michael is also a member of the Returned and Services League of Australia’s National Policy Committee and of the Field Marshal Sir Thomas Blamey Memorial Fund Committee.

Rebecca Tolhurst

Rebecca commenced her career in private legal practice in the fields of property and general commercial law before taking up her current position as General Counsel with the Bickford’s Group including responsibility for People and Culture. Her experience has extended broadly into the FMCG, retail and property industries in a transactional and strategic capacity. Rebecca also holds the position of Chair of the Barossa Co-op, a 75 year old retail co-operative operating in her home region of the Barossa Valley. Rebecca holds degrees in Law (Hons) and Commerce and is also a Graduate of the AICD. Rebecca joined the Australian Military Bank Board in July 2020.

Francesca Rush 

Francesca has over 30 years’ experience as a lawyer in private legal practice and in government. She was a Partner of Clayton Utz in the years 2003 to 2008 and from 2011 to 2019, which included serving as National Practice Group Leader for the Banking and Financial Services practice. Francesca is currently Chief Counsel – Commercial and First Secretary – Australian Industry Capability in the Department of Defence. As Chief Counsel - Commercial, Francesca has responsibility for providing strategic legal advice on complex contracting and procurement matters to Defence leadership and to Government. As First Assistant Secretary – Australian Industry Capability, Francesca is leading work to maximise Australian industry participation in the defence sector.

Timothy Pike

Tim has served in the Australian Army since 1999 and is currently Deputy Director of the Electronic Warfare Program in the Department of Defence with responsibility for the governance and execution of the Army’s electronic warfare capability. Prior to this, he was Commanding Officer of the 7th Signal Regiment and previously served in a number of senior positions with responsibility for information technology, cyber security, communications and border security operations.

Your browser is out-of-date!
click here to access online banking click here to upgrade your browser